//
you're reading...
Online dating, Psychos

Why I’m scared of online dating

Will you go for a date?

If you haven’t figured it out by now, I’m a strong supporter of online dating.

But sometimes it does scare the bejesus out of me.

Case in point: I was chatting to a guy on Tinder who was age appropriate and cute and seemed lovely if his texts were anything to go by. Lovely, I tell you.

We arranged to go out on a date. A few days before, I realised we had a mutual friend. So I texted the wife of said mutual friend just to check in.

It turns out he is a racist.

And a gambling addict.

And has spent time in prison.

And has been trying to teach his son how to backhand a woman.

I. Am. Not. Joking.

I am forever in debt to my dear friend for giving me the low down on this low life.

It is frightening how little you can know about a person before you go on a date with them.

And it’s even more terrifying when you come across someone who seems really, really normal in your pre-date communications but turns out to really, really not normal.

#dodgedabullet

Photo credit: nattu

About athousanddates

Too many dates, too little time to blog about them all. This is your blog for the good, the bad and the very, very ugly of the wonderful world of dating.

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Why I’m scared of online dating

  1. Reblogged this on Tequilatudes and commented:
    Omg I am reading this so I thought you might want too. Xo – TequilaT

    Posted by Tequila Tudes | August 12, 2014, 2:44 pm
  2. that is very scary 😦

    Posted by Tortoise | August 13, 2014, 1:00 pm
  3. Wow!! Lucky you didn’t actually go out with him!! Did he enquire as to why you changed your mind?

    Posted by Alice Shaw | August 13, 2014, 7:45 pm
    • We hadn’t exchanged numbers (another positive!) so I just deleted him from Tinder. One of the (few) good things about the app!

      Posted by athousanddates | August 13, 2014, 11:13 pm
      • So lucky! Once I was just casually chatting to this guy at a bar. He seemed really nice and I was sort of hoping he would ask me out for a coffee or whatever. Then out of the blue he said “so are you one of those women who turn into a complete bitch once you get to know them?” I was so stunned! I just said “bye” and walked away. Can happen anywhere, anytime. So many weirdos!

        Posted by Alice Shaw | August 14, 2014, 8:21 pm
  4. Dodged a bullet indeed, what an arsehole!

    Posted by girlseule | October 4, 2014, 5:02 pm

Leave a Reply

Stuff wot I write about

Archives

