//
you're reading...
Random musings

Guess who’s back

And so I return to blogging on Valentine's Day. Mark it in your diaries, people.

And so I return to blogging on Valentine’s Day. Mark it in your diaries, people. Although make it your 2016 diary, not your 2012 diary like the above.

Valentine’s Day seemed to me an appropriate day to return to blogging.

Hello, dear readers. (Perhaps that should be reader, singular. I’m actually not sure how many of you are still here.)

Yes, it’s been a while.

No, I’m not married.

I stopped blogging 18 months ago because it seemed to be an admission of failure. How was I still, (still!) writing a dating blog? The process of documenting my dates – good, bad and ugly – became a bit of a chore because it was a reminder my ‘fairytale’ (whatever that means these days) hadn’t happened yet.

Even as I write that, I cringe at how pathetic it sounds. But, it’s the truth. And I’ve been nothing if not truthful on these here pages (who could forget Things I’ve Learned So You Don’t Have To).

And then I decided to write a book. So I told myself it would be better to spend what spare time I had focusing on that rather than this.

And there were dates and people I was seeing for a while and surprising love affairs with, say, chain-smoking, weed-addicted genius bogans (true story) and a psychic who told me I was going to marry a doctor in Brisbane (so far, that prediction hasn’t materialised). And I used to think ‘that would probably make a good blog’ but I couldn’t put finger to keyboard.

In the process of writing the aforementioned book, however, I found myself looking back over the A Thousand Dates archives to get inspiration on characters and storylines. And I started to think about more blog topics that would be fun to write about. And I started to miss my little blog. And so… here I am.

I’m not going to lie to you: I am sincerely expecting that, now I’ve restarted this thing, Prince Charming is going to put down his bong and ask me to marry him.

Joking. Daily pot smoking is definitely on the deal-breaker list now (weirdly, smoking isn’t). But you get my drift.

Still, there’s plenty of content from the last 18 months to write about even when I am hooked up.

So, yeah. That’s it. All that’s left is to ask you a question: will you go out with me again and keep reading?

Photo credit: Dan Moyle

About athousanddates

Too many dates, too little time to blog about them all. This is your blog for the good, the bad and the very, very ugly of the wonderful world of dating.

Discussion

9 thoughts on “Guess who’s back

  1. I am so glad you’re back! And am now very excited about the prospect of a book. Get writing, lady!

    Posted by Mikeela | February 14, 2016, 10:51 am
  2. Yes! I’m very happy you are back ☺️

    Posted by Kiwi friend | February 14, 2016, 2:30 pm
  3. the answer is YES YES HELL YES AND THEN SOME! so…YAY! and YES!

    Posted by Lover of AThousandDates | February 14, 2016, 4:21 pm
  4. A book?! Aren’t you clever! Glad you’re back if you’re glad to be back xx

    Posted by Nicola Molloy | February 14, 2016, 5:58 pm
  5. So glad you’re back!

    Posted by Tortoise | February 15, 2016, 7:12 am
  6. YAY!! She’s back! Love it

    Posted by rexloveslamb | February 18, 2016, 9:05 am
  7. I love reading your words, always and forever!!! mwah xxxxxxx

    Posted by fgrant | February 20, 2016, 9:06 am

Leave a Reply

Stuff wot I write about

Archives

